Melbourne Wiki
Advertisement

Template:Infobox publisher

Milk Shadow Books is a publishing company created in 2008[1] by James Andre. It began as a label to self-publish his first book, The Infernal Sugar Dive.[2] It has since developed as an independent publisher, largely releasing alternative works after publishing Ben Hutching's Walking to Japan in 2011.[3] The company's roster now includes full length works by artists including Tim Molloy, Dillon Naylor, Ben Hutchings and Ben Constantine. As of July 2013, the company is distributing its graphic novel line through Madman Entertainment.[4]

Books

Graphic Novels

  • No Map, But Not Lost by Bobby.N. Introduction by Larry Boxshall
  • It Shines and Shakes and Laughs by Tim Molloy. Introduction by Dylan Horrocks. Finalist for the 2012 Aurealis Award in the Illustrated Book / Graphic Novel Category[5]
  • The Trials of Francis Bear by Gregory Mackay
  • Zombolette by Scarlette Baccini
  • Stripshow by Bruce Mutard
  • All You Bastards Can Go Jump Off A Bridge by J. Marc Schmidt. Introduction by Bernard Caleo
  • Mr Unpronounceable Adventures by Tim Molloy[6]
  • A Brush With Darkness by Dillon Naylor. Introduction by Jarrod Watt
  • Yuck! Number Seven by various contributors. Introduction by Mr. Slime
  • You Stink and i Don't - Volume 1 by Ben Hutchings
  • You Stink and i Don't - Volume 2 by Ben Hutchings
  • Da 'n' Dill - The Showbag Years by Dillon Naylor. Introduction by Owen Heitmann
  • Squirt-Stone - The Collected Plump Oyster Volume 1 by Ben Constantine
  • Awk Wood by Jase Harper (2014 release)
  • Untitled Mr Unpronounceable book by Tim Molloy (2014 release)

Mini Comics

  • Allocthonous Pop Issue 1 by James Andre and Luke Pickett
  • Cartoondelia by Johandson Rezende
  • Walking to Japan by Ben Hutchings
  • Handball Heaven by Ben Hutchings
  • Lesson Master by Ben Hutchings
  • You Stink and I Don’t Issue 10 by Ben Hutchings
  • Yuck! #1 by various contributors. Introduction by Mr. Slime
  • Yuck! #2 by various contributors. Introduction by Mr. Slime
  • Yuck! #3 by various contributors. Introduction by Mr. Slime
  • Yuck! #4 by various contributors. Introduction by Mr. Slime
  • Yuck! #5 by various contributors. Introduction by Mr. Slime
  • Yuck! #6 by various contributors. Introduction by Mr. Slime
  • Zoonimini #1 by Fil Barlow
  • 24 Hours from Paradise by Ben Hutchings

Prose Books

  • Monster Addict by James Andre and various artists
  • The Loneliness Manifesto by James Andre and Brendan Halyday
  • What We Did For Kicks by James Andre and various artists
  • XXX Neon Sign by James Andre and Bobby.N
  • The Garbage Truck Failures by James Andre, Brendan Halyday and Bobby.N
  • The Infernal Sugar Dive by James Andre

Art Books

  • Sweat Soda by David DeGrand. Introduction by Kaz

Yuck! Anthologies

File:Yuck Issue Seven.jpg

Yuck! Issue Seven, with cover art by Ben Constantine

The first Yuck! Anthology was published in 2008. It featured works in the vein of Zap Comix and Mad Magazine.[7] Six issues of the anthology were published in a small zine format[8] until 2013, when Yuck! Number Seven was released in larger graphic novel format at Melbourne's Big Arse 3 Comic launch.[9] In 2013, the publisher announced that Yuck! would be discontinued for the foreseeable future due to time and financial issues.[10]

Artists who have contributed to Yuck! include (but are not limited to) Michael Aushenker, Ben Constantine, David DeGrand, Johandson Rezende, Jason Paulos, Glenno, Ben Hutchings, Jacek Zabawa, Luke Pickett, Kapreles, Scarlette Baccini, Matt Emery, Ross Radiation, James Andre, Craig Collins, Dean Rankine, Ben Constantine, Giles, J-Stew, Shaun Craike, Tim Molloy, Bruce Mutard, Gregory Mackay, Ryan Vella, Anton Emdin, Ben John Smith, Frank Candiloro and Jase Harper.

References

Advertisement